Not Everyone Should Vote.

It’s election day, and we’re told the most important thing is to just get out and vote, and the more voters the better.  Rock the Vote! Right?

But I don’t see how it helps for uninformed people to vote, if they don’t take the time to study issues, seek out facts and varied perspectives, and try to make an intelligent decision as you would about a business issue.  As in business, quality is more important than quantity.

I would encourage people who barely follow politics not to cast a random, uninformed vote.  I think for our society, quality decision making is going to help our nation more than just a high quantity of people checking a box without really thinking things through.

I am not saying that any adult should be prevented from voting – no one deserves the power to be in charge of “who’s qualified.”  Everyone needs equal voting rights.  In fact, I think it should be made more convenient to vote with longer hours and easy absentee voting, though I do believe some fair, free and easy voter ID should be required.

So should you vote?  If you answer yes to any of the questions below, I’d encourage you to stay home this election, spend some time getting better qualified, and make your vote count next time around.

  1. Do I not know the names of all my representatives and cannot pick them out of a lineup on sight?
  2. Do I rarely pay attention to news or political analysis?
  3. If I do pay attention to politics, do I listen mostly to sensationalist or “opinion” media from one perspective (right or left)?
  4. Do I just vote a party line without evaluating each candidate?
  5. Do I seldom pay attention to how elected officials are doing their jobs and personally behaving between election seasons?
  6. Is there nothing a representative from my preferred party could possibly do to cause me to vote for the other party, or do I give them a “free pass” on bad behavior out of party loyalty?
  7. Am I obsessed with particular politicians (positive or negative) and pay little attention to nuts and bolts policies?

Of course, it’s your choice and that’s how it should be.

Vote with Care – and God Bless America!

 

Leave a Reply

