madonnamicage

The Last Tolerated Bias ~ Ageism

~~ In the latest Rolling Stone, Madonna tackles the issue of age discrimination, which is pervasive in business and life for both women and men.  It’s definitely a widespread hidden bias in the nightlife/hospitality world where I work.  If someone continues to be as fit, creative and effective in show business or the nightlife world, why should it be OK to degrade or dismiss them due to age? Good question, and Madonna tackles it in her typical daring style ~~

“No one would dare to say a degrading remark about being black or dare to say a degrading remark on Instagram about someone being gay,” Madonna continues. “But my age – anybody and everybody would say something degrading to me. And I always think to myself, why is that accepted? What’s the difference between that and racism, or any discrimination? They’re judging me by my age. I don’t understand. I’m trying to get my head around it. Because women, generally, when they reach a certain age, have accepted that they’re not allowed to behave a certain way. But I don’t follow the rules. I never did, and I’m not going to start.”

~~ Read more here in Rolling Stone and watch the video of Madonna’s interview.  I say Bravo Madonna.  Age is only important in wines and cheeses.

~~ Have a great week and stay ageless my friends — TTBG

Leave a Reply

